6 days to go



To date, six of the 19 editions of the FIFA World Cup™ have been won by the host team.

After the first two (Uruguay 1930 and Italy 1934), the hosts had to wait 32 years before they could lift the Trophy again, with England the team to oblige in 1966.

Following two wins by the hosts in 1974 (Germany FR) and 1978 (Argentina), there was another 20-year break before France became the sixth and, to date, last home favourites to prevail.

The question is: will six become seven at Brazil 2014?

Tagged under


New Delhi


Humidity 76%

Wind 0 km/h

  • 4 Dec 201429°C12°C
  • 5 Dec 201428°C12°C