Chris Gayle to Miss ODI Series in India, Windies Pack Squad With IPL Stars

The West Indies miss Chris Gayle during their upcoming ODI series against India. The burly, hard-hitting Jamaican is recovering from injury and will miss the five-match series starting in Kochi on October 8. Dwayne Bravo will lead the 15-member Caribbean team.

West Indies will be suitably compensated in terms of batting firepower. Dwayne Smith, who is used to Indian conditions playing the Indian Premier League and currently the Champions League Twenty20 for Chennai Super Kings, have been included in the squad.

Another all-rounder making the cut is Marlon Samuels, who has tremendous knowledge of Indian conditions. Fast bowler Jerome Taylor is also making a comeback. Guyana’s Test batsman Leon Johnson will also tour India.

Apart from Gayle, the West Indian selectors have omitted left-arm spinner Nikita Miller and batsman Kirk Edwards. Sunil Narine will be the lone specialist spinner in the team.

West Indies ODI squad: Dwayne Bravo (captain), Darren Bravo, Jason Holder, Leon Johnson, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Denesh Ramdin (wicket-keeper), Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Andre Russell, Darren Sammy, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Smith, Jerome Taylor.


New Delhi

Widespread Dust

Humidity 47%

Wind 19.31 km/h

  • 4 Jul 201538°C30°C
  • 5 Jul 201539°C28°C