Haryana Assembly session begins, newly elected MLAs take oath

he three-day session of the Haryana Assembly commenced on Monday as pro-tem Speaker Raghubir Singh Kadian administered oaths to the 90 newly-elected MLAs.

Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar was the first to take oath followed by the ministers, including cabinet ministers Ram Bilas Sharma and Abhimanyu, Om Parkash Dhankar, Anil Vij, Narbir Singh, Kavita Jain, and Ministers of State Bikram Singh Yadav, Krishan Kumar Bedi and Karan Dev Kamboj.

Abhimanyu took the oath in Sanskrit while others, including the Chief Minister, took it in Hindi.

Being the sole agenda for the day’s session, the process of administering the oath would continue till late in the day.

BJP which came to power in Haryana on its own, occupied the treasury benches, and Congress which had ruled the state for nine years, was seated on the opposition benches along with Indian National Lok Dal (INLD), which emerged as the largest opposition party.

This is the first instance that the Bharatiya Janata Party has formed the government on its own in Haryana after elections to the 90-member assembly were held last month, in which the party registered wins on 47 out of 90 seats.

The election of Speaker of the new Assembly is also likely to take place on Monday, while Governor Kaptan Singh Solanki will address the House on Tuesday.

Tagged under


New Delhi


Humidity 51%

Wind 0 km/h

  • 15 Sep 201538°C26°C
  • 16 Sep 201537°C26°C