Netherlands and Nepal awarded T20 International status



The Netherlands and Nepal have been granted Twenty20 International status at the ICC Annual Conference in Melbourne.

Both sides competed at the World Twenty20 in Bangladesh earlier this year, with the Dutch bowling England out for 88 in a 45-run win in Chittagong for their only win of the Super 10 phase.

They had earlier qualified for the second stage of the tournament with wins over the United Arab Emirates and Ireland.

Nepal also won two of their three qualifiers, but a defeat against hosts Bangladesh saw them knocked out on net run rate.

The countries join Afghanistan, Hong Kong, Ireland, Scotland, Papua New Guinea and the UAE as associate members with T20 world status.

Among the other membership decisions made at the Congress, the ICC confirmed the USA Cricket Association and not the American Cricket Federation as its recognised member in the United States.

Oman Cricket has become the ICC’s 38th associate member while Brunei have been suspended and Tonga removed for failing to adhere to ICC regulations.

The changes will come into effect from October 1.

Tagged under


New Delhi


Humidity 37%

Wind 11.27 km/h

  • 6 Dec 201427°C13°C
  • 7 Dec 201428°C11°C